Fun Detail or Too Much Trend?

My fashion style tends to lean toward classic pieces, but I do enjoy incorporating current trends into my wardrobe as well. I like to mix fun trendy pieces with the classics because they gives the classics an updated look. The use of the classic or traditional pieces, meanwhile, keeps the outfit from becoming too trendy.

One current trend I’ve been wanting to try out for a while now is the open weave tight. I received open weave tights as a Christmas gift, but never wore them until this week.

When I get something new that, in my mind, is “trendy,” I always feel a little self-conscious about wearing it for the first time. I’ve learned to get over that though because chances are no one else is noticing it or thinking about it as much as I am. I’m sure a lot of people experience this.

Sometimes even once you get over the fear of worrying about what others might think, you still feel somewhat uncomfortable with it–just because it’s something new. There are some tricks you can try to minimize your discomfort. I find for myself, once I get past that initial wearing, then I feel free to wear the item however I want in the future.

Anyway, to get to the point, this is how I was feeling about the open weave tights. They were something new to me, plus I was concerned about making sure they remained work appropriate.

As you can see, my solution was to pair the tights with a longer length dress and tall boots. This minimizes the amount of the tights actually visible. By doing this, the tights become a fun little detail, rather than overtly trendy. The longer skirt on the dress also keeps the outfit work appropriate. These tights would not work in a work setting with a shorter dress.

This outfit also blends trendy (open weave tights and tall boots) with a classic look (dress with a cardigan belted on top of it).

Overall, I was pretty pleased with this outfit. It’s one of my favorites that I’ve come up with in a while. I wore this on Wednesday–my long day. Dressing up on my most exhausting day of the week helps me get through it a little easier.

So what about you? Is your style trendy or classic? Do you ever feel self-conscious about trying new things? If so, how do you overcome that?

One Response to Fun Detail or Too Much Trend?

  1. eceldridge says:

    Neat! I don’t have open weave tights, but I do have some patterned ones. I usually wear those with high boots and a knee-length skirt/dress, for detail, as you put it.

    My style’s all over the place. I like to be trendy from time to time, but I’d guess I steer more towards the classic styles when it comes to work and church.

Leave a Reply

