Back in the Springfield Groove

That doesn’t have quite the same ring as New York Groove, but it’s all I’ve got.

I’ve been back for a week now and things are already starting to pick up with my own classes. Work is still rather slow; I don’t have my first appointments until next week.

Last semester was all about writing; this one looks to be all about reading. I still have a fair amount of writing to accomplish by the end of the semester, but the amount of weekly reading could be quite overwhelming if I thought about it too much. Instead, I just take it one book at a time, one day at a time. Focusing on the day-to-day keeps me from freaking out about the big picture. This week I had 622 pages to read for my Wednesday class. I wondered how I’d finish it on time, but instead I finished Monday evening, giving me all day today to read for another class. Somehow, it all gets done.

It would be easy for me to say that I got it all read so quickly because I did nothing else, but that would not be true either. In the past five days I’ve gone to the gym four times, baked pizza crust and cinnamon rolls, gone shopping, and stayed current with my tv shows. Oh, and let’s not forget I’ve also kept up with washing dishes, which is where I usually fall behind first.

All in all, a good start to the semester.

2 Responses to Back in the Springfield Groove

  1. MP says:

    Yeah! Hope you keep current!

  2. eceldridge says:

    Stay strong! Power through those pages! It’s a good thing that those pages are in something you love. Wouldn’t it be awful for you if you had to read 622 pages of chemistry? 😉

Leave a Reply

