What Happened to My Motivation?

Since finishing that big paper last week, I haven’t been able to recapture my sense of urgency. Granted, I did turn in three things this week, and, as I’ve shown on this blog, I was productive last weekend. But during the week I keep accomplishing very little. It’s because I don’t have weekly reading anymore. That’s making me lazy.

Here’s what I still have to do this semester. Hopefully I haven’t forgotten anything. In no particular order:

  • 15 minute presentation on my historiographical essay
  • The final version of that essay (fortunately the revisions are not too extensive)
  • Museum budget assignment
  • Essay #3 for the museum class
  • Book review of an indeterminate length (I just now wrote the introduction and thesis for this, so maybe . . . I can finish it before I go home for Thanksgiving. Wishful thinking?)
  • 15 page essay on some museum problem of my choosing (I’ve picked my topic and found some of my sources. I’m actually pretty excited about this one. Wish it was only 10 pages though.)
  • 3-5 page essay covering a theme from my course on the US from 1890-1945. (I was not expecting this assignment to be so short.)

The good news is I’m not particularly worried about any of these things. Perhaps that’s also the bad news–and the reason why I can’t get up the motivation to work on any of it. Out of all of those, the one I am most concerned about is the presentation. Not because I have to speak–this semester I’ve gotten used to speaking to my own students, so presenting will be no problem. No, what I’m worried about is dragging my presentation out to 15 minutes. I tend to be pretty concise and to-the-point. I know it’s a good thing to be concise, but I find that means I sometimes have trouble filling time. We’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

