Back to the Grindstone

After last week’s marathon writing weekend, I took it pretty easy this past week. Finishing that paper last Sunday lifted a huge mental load, making me feel like I suddenly had tons of free time. I thought, at first, that wasn’t really true because I still have several papers to write. However, I realized that in some ways I do have more free time because those papers are really all I have left. Only one of my classes still has weekly reading, and even that is minimal. This means I can focus on finishing the final papers without worrying about reading for class.

This past week I took it pretty easy. Really, the only thing I did was read the book for a review I have to write. I’ve almost finished it.

Today and tomorrow I have to get back to the grindstone. There are three things I have to do:

  • Prepare presentation for Tuesday
  • Write comparative book review for Tuesday
  • Write H-Net project for Wednesday

After giving myself something of a break this past week, this coming week I need to really push myself to get a lot accomplished so I can have some semblance of a break over Thanksgiving. I already know of two things I have to do the week following break, so if I can at least get started on those projects before leaving for home, I will be very happy.

3 Responses to Back to the Grindstone

  1. eceldridge says:

    Good luck with your pre and post-Thanksgiving work! Also what is an H-Net project?

    • spezzella says:

      H-Net is basically an online community of historians. There are individual groups for just about every sub- and sub-sub-discipline you can imagine that relates to history. One of our projects for this class was to join an H-Net group related to our interest and then keep track of the weekly discussions. For the project, I just had to write a paragraph for each week I’ve been on the list.

Leave a Reply

