I Refuse to Turn on the Heat

It’s interesting how conscious you become of such things when you have to pay your own utilities bill. Tomorrow night’s low is supposed to be 29 so I’m not sure how much longer I can keep this up. Fortunately, I have plenty of sweaters, blankets, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate to keep me warm.

Right now I am supposed to be reading for my historiographical essay, but I am very unmotivated. The draft is due two weeks from tonight. It is supposed to be 10-12 pages and have at least 20 sources. I don’t think actually writing it will be too difficult, but getting through all the sources is going to take some time. I’ve only looked at about 5 so far.

This past weekend was wonderful. My mom came to visit; it was great finally having a visitor! It was the perfect weekend for her to come too because I had relatively less homework than usual (i.e., only one paper instead of two and comparatively less reading). We saw Red, went shopping, and visited the Lincoln Presidential Museum. Even though I still did some homework over the weekend, it felt like a sort of mini break. I think I needed that because the rest of the semester is going to be a marathon.

It’s already time to register for next semester’s classes or will be on Monday. The history department in all its wisdom scheduled two required classes at precisely the same time, so I am in the process of finding out if I can take one of them as an independent study. I really hope I can do that. Not only would it allow me to take both of those requirements sooner rather than later, but I would also only have to be actually in class twice a week. Crossing my fingers this works out!

What have you been up to? I love comments; talk to me!

One Response to I Refuse to Turn on the Heat

  1. Katie says:

    Most places here in Chile have no central heating – or at least don’t use it. I don’t think you want to go the Chilean route, however. Too cold!

Leave a Reply

