The More Things Change . . .

This afternoon I sat on my couch, writing a paper and watching the Braves playoff game. It gave me pause to reflect on constants. I think throughout life, one always has constants–people, places, things that one keeps coming back to no matter how life might otherwise change.

Though I consider myself a White Sox fan first and foremost, the fact is that I did not grow up a Sox fan. I grew up a Braves fan. It is my dad’s favorite team so thus it was mine as well. Though I know I went to a Sox game as a child, I have no memory of that, but I do have many memories of going to Braves games. Sitting on the couch this afternoon, watching the Braves play had a sort of timelessness to me. Bobby Cox’s retirement once the Braves’ season ends marks the end of an era, but I think Braves games will always conjure up memories of my childhood. In that sense, they will always be a constant in my life.

The afternoon also gave me a sense of deja vu. Though the team is different this time, I couldn’t help but flash back to my freshman year of college, when I spent October writing papers and watching the Sox on their way to becoming World Champions.

In other news, the past week was crazy busy. I worked extra hours on Friday. After nine hours of reading student papers, I was dreading working on my own this weekend. I felt a bit panicked because one of the papers I have due next week is a comparative book review and I hadn’t even finished reading the second book yet.

I came home Friday night from work and felt too exhausted to do homework. I went to bed super early for me–10 pm. That actually worked out really well because I woke up at 6 the next morning. I finished reading the rest of the book (about 100 pages), made pizza crust, went to the gym, had a phone date with Alyssa, and wrote all of my paper that’s due Monday night. All I can say about that is thank goodness for NCIS marathons on USA. I wish there was some way I could wake up at 6 everyday, but my schedule just wouldn’t allow it.

Today has been fairly productive as well, though I didn’t get started until much later. I went to church and the grocery store, made bean & rice burgers and sandwich rolls, went to the gym, and wrote 2/3 of my paper due Wednesday. I likely could have finished it all tonight, but I was starting to get really sick of looking at it so I’ll finish it up in the morning before work, then wait until Tuesday to revise so I can come at it with fresh eyes. I’d like to thank my Mentalist dvds for getting me through another marathon writing session.

I’ll leave you with a couple of pictures from last weekend.

Lincoln’s Home

This house is down the road from Lincoln’s. I really want it!

3 Responses to The More Things Change . . .

  1. Margaret says:

    nice post

  2. eceldridge says:

    You’re working so hard! I’m impressed! How are the students’ papers for the most part? Are they doing an ok job, or does it take a while to plow through each essay?

    • spezzella says:

      It depends… some essays are obviously better than others. There are a few I’ve been impressed with, while other times you just wonder what’s going on. I’m just glad I’m not responsible for grading!

      Yesterday I gave a lecture on using library databases, researching for articles, and how to do MLA citations, so that was fun!

Leave a Reply

