Book Review: We Two by Gillian Gill

After a month of reading this book off and on I finally finished yesterday morning! I really enjoyed it, but it took me so long because it is a very dense history book and those always take me a while to get through no matter how interesting I find them.

We Two: Victoria and Albert: Rulers, Partners, Rivals tells the story of Queen Victoria and her husband Prince Albert. The Victorian era is one of my absolute favorite periods of history and one I’ve studied several times, including while I was at Oxford. I enjoyed the perspective of this book, however, because it specifically focuses on the relationship between Victoria and Albert. The reader learns how their partnership began, how it was perceived at the time, the effect it had on others, the effect others had on it, and so on. One thing I found particularly interesting was that while Victoria and Albert clearly loved each other, they were in many ways rivals as well.

Like I said, this is a fairly dense read that will take you a while to get through, but it is a must-read for anyone with an interest in nineteenth-century history in general or Victorian history in particular.

Leave a Reply

