Armchair Travel

As you may have noticed, I put this blog on hiatus last week. A lot has been going on lately and I decided I didn’t need blogging on top of everything else. That said, I don’t want to stop blogging. I am just not going to try to force it if I’m not in the mood. So there may not be new posts everyday, but I will still update.

I love to travel. It is something that I want to do a lot more. Spending 5 weeks in the UK two years ago only whetted my appetite.

Recently I have discovered the joys of armchair travel. While no substitute for the real thing, it is a good alternative if you’re not quite in a position to travel the world yet. It is also a good use of time because reading travel guides and exploring websites can teach you about different places and give you an idea of where you want to go and what you want to do there. Not too long ago I read an excellent travel guide to Rome and I followed it up by visiting websites for places the guide mentioned. Now I have some idea of what it will take for me to visit Rome and what I want to do while I’m there. When I do reach a point when I can travel there, half the planning is already done.

3 Responses to Armchair Travel

  1. mom says:

    I agree! I used to think it was a lame thing to do. But with the internet it can be a lot of fun!

  2. eceldridge says:

    I love this post and agree wholeheartedly. Just today I was looking at cruise information. I can’t afford it, and there are many places I want to go first before the Bahamas, but I love reading about it and imagining myself there. šŸ™‚

  3. I love armchair travel – it’s basically much of what my site is about. You might enjoy my most recent post about the secret to my armchair travel destination selection (say that 10 times fast!). I’m having a great time travelling the world without a passport and without spending any money – though I have my passport ready to go if and when I ever have the money!

Leave a Reply

