I Got New Books!

For Christmas I received a couple of gift cards to Barnes & Noble and I knew exactly for what to use them. Almost immediately I pre-ordered A River in the Sky by Elizabeth Peters and The Mapping of Love and Death by Jacqueline Winspear.

The package arrived today, but of course this has to be the week I am super busy. I don’t know when I am going to get to read them. In some ways I am ok with that though because I know once I start I will probably finish each book in about a day.

Additionally, I have heard rumors that A River in the Sky may be the last Amelia Peabody book so the longer I can drag out the suspense, the better, I suppose. I don’t know if there has been an official announcement that it is the last book (I haven’t seen one) or if that is just speculation since Elizabeth Peters is getting up there in age.

The Amelia Peabody books by Elizabeth Peters have been described as a cross between Miss Marple and Indiana Jones. If you love adventure, mystery, suspense, humor, and romance, definitely check out this series. The series takes place in the late nineteenth/early twentieth century and is mostly set in Egypt. Not only are the books a whole lot of fun, but you will probably learn a little bit about Egyptian history and archeology as well, since Elizabeth Peters holds a doctorate in Egyptology from the University of Chicago.

Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs series is set in Britain during the inter-war years, probably my second favorite time period (the setting for Amelia Peabody being my absolute favorite). I find Winspear’s writing to be more literary than a lot of the mystery series I read, but her plots are still very good as well. I love the darker tone of this series and can’t wait to see what Maisie is up to now.

One Response to I Got New Books!

  1. eceldridge says:

    I love the cover of the book! You should review “A River in the Sky” when you finish it.

Leave a comment