Book Review: Churchill by Paul Johnson

Churchill by Paul Johnson is a short and quick read about the life of Winston Churchill. Less than 200 pages long, it obviously does not go into as much detail as the other more extensive biographies of Churchill do. It does, however, provide a nice overview of Churchill’s life. It reads at a very fast pace; I finished it in less than a day.

I enjoyed reading this book because it provided a nice refresher to some of the things I studied last year. I particularly enjoyed some of the quotes sprinkled throughout the book as they brought back fond memories of my history classes.

If, like me, you have a solid background in history, I doubt this book will present you with anything new. However, for anyone less familiar with the complete course of Churchill’s life, this book is probably a good one in which to get your feet wet.

One Response to Book Review: Churchill by Paul Johnson

  1. eceldridge says:

    Sounds like a good starter for me, since I haven’t studied his life in depth. Mental note, this is on my to-read list.

Leave a Reply

