Coconut Milk Ice Cream

I no longer eat any animal products for health reasons, but that doesn’t mean I’ve had to give up one of my favorite desserts: ice cream.

I’ve recently discovered the joy that is coconut milk ice cream. Companies have been making frozen desserts out of soy for years, but I avoid those since too much soy really is not healthy. Desserts made from coconut milk are relatively new and they are delicious.

If you tried the ice cream bar pictured on this page without knowing it contains zero dairy, you probably would never guess.

Dairy-free desserts do, in general, cost more than those made with dairy products. However, I have found that when eating healthier overall I crave sweets much less. This means I can afford to pay a bit more for dessert (since I consume less of it) and it also means I can eat dessert guilt-free (since it isn’t something I have everyday).

Even if you love dairy products and have zero intention of ever giving them up, I recommend that you try coconut milk ice cream for the novelty if nothing else. It is always good to branch out and try new things and you may discover a new favorite in the process!

Check out the Turtle Mountain website to view some of the other products they offer.

Special thanks to eceldridge for inspiring this post after a phone conversation last night!

2 Responses to Coconut Milk Ice Cream

  1. mrspezzella says:

    these are divine!

    I double checked the package just to make sure there was no dairy–they’re that good

    🙂

  2. eceldridge says:

    I’m having one after Easter, and I can’t wait! I love trying new ice cream, and it makes sense that coconut milk would work well. 🙂 PS. Thanks for the thanks! 😉

Leave a Reply

