Focus on the Positive

This is the post you were supposed to get last week, first on Thursday (but I forgot to take the picture) and then on Friday (but blogging completely slipped my mind–in fact, Friday was the first time since I started up this blog again that I unintentionally didn’t post).

Anyway, something that I really try to do is to focus on the positive. For example, last week we got eight inches of snow. I had to go to work that night and my dad was out of town, so it was up to me to get the driveway clear. I can never get the snow blower started. I don’t know if I’m not strong enough, or tall enough, or what, but I can never get it started. Not to mention that even if I could, I am not sure I would want to use it since the overpowering smell of gasoline really gets to me.

So that means I got to clear the whole driveway the old-fashioned way. And the driveway isn’t exactly short.

It would have been really easy for me to be angry and annoyed (at no one in particular, just at the world in general) that I had to spend a couple of hours of my day before going to work outside in the cold, clearing the driveway using muscles I didn’t even know I had.

But I realized almost immediately that such an attitude would achieve nothing. The fact was that I had to get to work and the only way I could do that was by clearing the driveway. So since I had to do it anyway, it would be much more enjoyable to do it with a positive attitude than with a negative one.

I grabbed my iPod and decided to embrace the situation as an opportunity to get some fresh air and a good workout. I forgot to keep track of how long it took, but it was at least two hours and I think it was actually over that.

I was fine at work that night, but the next morning I was incredibly sore. However, I would do it all again in a heartbeat. See, even in this little thing of clearing my driveway, I got to experience the satisfaction of doing something for myself. I exercised my liberty by not having to be dependent on someone else to do things for me. And that is a really good feeling to have, even in shoveling a driveway.

2 Responses to Focus on the Positive

  1. eceldridge says:

    This post is a lovely example of why you could never be a democrat: “I got to experience the satisfaction of doing something for myself. I exercised my liberty by not having to be dependent on someone else to do things for me. And that is a really good feeling to have, even in shoveling a driveway.” Good advice, we all need to remember to focus on the positive, especially when the negative would do us no good anyway.

  2. margaret says:

    excellent post!

Leave a Reply

