Armistice Day

Today is Armistice Day (celebrated in the US as Veterans Day since WWII). Armistice Day “commemorates the armistice signed between the Allies of World War I and Germany . . . for the cessation of hostilities on the Western Front, which took effect at eleven o’clock in the morning — the ‘eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month.'”  Source

Last year I wrote several papers relating to the topic of World War I. I am extremely fascinated by the period. For anyone wanting to know more about the events leading to the war and the start of the war itself, I strongly recommend The Proud Tower and The Guns of August, both by Barbara Tuchman.

The Guns of August

3 Responses to Armistice Day

  1. meg says:

    I heard today the President is STILL deciding on Afghanistan. He should read this:

    http://www.victorhanson.com/articles/hanson110909B.html

  2. eceldridge says:

    Good article! Proud Tower is on my reading list, I’ll let you know when I get to it.

  3. blackwatertown says:

    I’d also recommend the Regeneration series – 3 novels – by Pat Barker. Very good. Partly based, I think, on the relationship between war poets and soldiers Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon.

Leave a Reply

