Reading Habits

I saw this meme on C. S. Harris’s blog. She writes the Sebastian St. Cyr books, of which I am a big fan.

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?
I don’t normally snack while reading. However, if I am at work I will usually read while on my break and eating lunch/dinner.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
While in college, there were probably, at most, a handful of books that I ever wrote in. And those were the books I had no intention of keeping. So I would say in general the idea tends to horrify me.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
Bookmark definitely, though in college I used post-its so I could mark the specific place I left off since it wasn’t normally at the end of a chapter.

Fiction, nonfiction, or both?
Usually fiction, with a non-fiction book (usually history related) every month or two.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
I prefer to stop at the end of a chapter, but have no problem stopping elsewhere if necessary.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?
No, I can usually figure it out from context if I don’t already know it. If I’m really curious I might remember it and look it up later, but stopping in the middle of a paragraph to look up a word really takes me out of the story.

What are you currently reading?
Clouds of Witness by Dorothy L. Sayers

What is the last book you bought?
Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

Are you the type of person who reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
Now that I’m out of school I usually just read one at a time. If I am reading more than that it’s because the first book failed to hold my interest, but I’m not prepared to give it up completely.

Do you have a favorite time/place to read?
Whenever I can

Do you prefer series books or stand alones?
I tend to read a lot of series, but I am open to either one.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?
Elizabeth Peters

How do you organize your books?(by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)
I organize alphabetical by author. Series books are organized in the order the books should be read.

So what are your reading habits?

One Response to Reading Habits

  1. eceldridge says:

    Fun meme!! I like this one!

Leave a Reply

